
 

(July 1st) Beginning 
of the new fiscal 

year 

July August September October November December January February March April May June 
 

The Legislative General 
Session begins the 4th Monday 

in January.                                
Utah Const. Art. VI, Sec. 2 

 

(June 30th) End 
of fiscal year 

GOMB, the Legislative Fiscal 
Analyst, and the Utah State Tax 
Commission develop consensus 

revenue estimates. 

State agencies and public and 
higher education submit planned 
budgets for the next fiscal year 

to the Governor’s Office of 
Management and Budget 

(GOMB). 
UCA 63J-1-201(3)(a) 

Appropriations 
subcommittees 
approve base 
budgets and 

prioritize funding 
adjustments. 

The Executive 
Appropriations 

Committee approves 
base budgets and other 
appropriations bills. The 
bills are passed by the 

full Legislature. 
 

GOMB estimates 
anticipated revenues while 
analyzing base budgets and 

new funding requests. 
GOMB assists the Governor 

with the preparation of 
budget recommendations. 

The Legislative 
General Session lasts 

45 calendar days.  
Utah Const. Article VI Sec. 16 

The Governor may sign or veto bills 
passed by the Legislature. The 

Governor may veto an 
appropriations line item. The last 
day to sign or veto bills is 20 days 
after the end of the session. The 

Legislature can override a veto with 
a two-thirds vote. Bills that are not 

signed or vetoed become law. 
Utah Const. Art. VII, Sec. 8 

The Governor must release the 
recommended budget no later 

than 30 days before the 
Legislature convenes. 

UCA 63J-1-201(1) 


